The Iowa Family Medicine Residency Network is composed of six individual residencies in Davenport, Des Moines, Iowa City, Mason City, Sioux City, and Waterloo. Programs are institutional affiliates of The University of Iowa and comprise The Iowa Family Medicine Residency Network.

Family physicians, pharmacists and behavioral science instructors serve as the core faculty for each residency program. Each program is sponsored by one or more community hospitals and relies substantially on community resources to complement and enrich training. Many exceptional private physicians (representing all medical specialties) serve as volunteer teachers at each site.

The network offers 47 first-year positions. More than 2,000 residents have entered family medicine training in the Iowa Family Medicine Residency Network since its inception in the 1970s.